About NAON

Committees and Task Forces

Want to get involved with NAON, but not sure where to start? Learn more about each of our committees and task forces by reading the descriptions below or contacting the committee chair. Once you’ve found the committee(s) you’d like to join, fill out a Willingness to Serve form.

Acquiring Interested Members Committee (AIM)

Chair: Kyala Pascual, RN, ONC

Committee Members: Dawn Denny, Ph.D., RN, ONC; Heather Barnes, DNP, APRN, CPNP, ONC; Marjorie Kulesa, RN, BS, ONC, CNOR-E; Christina Ridings, MSN, RN, ONC, NE-BC; Cindy Lewis, MSN, RN, APN-BC, ONP-C

The AIM committee strives to match the skills of interested members with volunteer positions within the organization.

Advancing the Career of Orthopaedic RN’s (ACORN)

Chair: Kyala Pascual, RN, ONC

Committee Members: Ibrahim Mamadou, RN; Barbara Blanco, Ms., MSN, APRN-FNP, LNC, CMSRN, ONC; Lisa Marchlewski, BSN; Melissa Gagliano, MSN, RN; Ka pik (Becky) Ng, RN; Jennifer Lofft, BSN, RN, ONC, CMS; Heather Tripp, MSN RN ONC

The ACORN committee services as the voice of NAON’s early career nurse members to ensure their needs are met by the association. Our goal is to share the benefits of nurturing early career nurses into their chosen specialty while retaining our seasoned members and encouraging their continued support. This committee implements activities including webinars, website resources, mentorships, online education, and events to engage and attract new nurses to NAON. The ACORN committee is always open to suggestions to ensure member’s needs are met by the association.

Chapter and Affiliate Team (CAT)

Chair: Heather Barnes, DNP, APRN, CPNP, ONC

Committee Members: Christina Ridings, MSN, RN, ONC, NE-BC; Keri Olson, BSN, RN, ONC; Ashley Street, MSN, RN, ONC, CCRN; Jennifer Doyle-Fidler, MSN, RN

The CAT’s responsibilities include recommending methods to strengthen and promote chapter growth, assessing chapter viability, and facilitating new affiliates to form or weak chapters to fold. The CAT serves as a resource to the chapter presidents and affiliate leaders and has bi-weekly contact with chapter and affiliate leaders.  

Leadership Search Committee (LSC)

Chair:  Marjorie Kulesa, RN, BS, ONC, CNOR-E 

Committee Members: Michele Haryanto, RN-BC, MBA, ONC; Colleen R. Walsh, DNP, ONC, ONP-C, CNS, ACNP-BC; Jack Davis, MSN, RN, ONC; Doreen Johnson, MSN, RN, ONC

The LSC is appointed by the NAON Executive Board to actively recruit candidates for elected offices. The committee prepares a ballot that is sent to active members at the beginning of each calendar year. To download the candidate application packet, click here. To view position descriptions and the future election cycle, click here

Local Affairs Task Force

The Local Affairs Task Force is a dedicated group of individuals with extensive knowledge of geographic locations and local resources of the city where the current year’s Annual Congress takes place. The task force provides travel information on dining, shopping, tours, directions, and more, making your Congress experience that much better.

NAON Education Committee (NEC)

Chair: Cindy Lewis, MSN, RN, APN-BC, ONP-C

Committee Members: Kathy Chilutti Abel, DNP, RN, APN; Beth Gard, MSN, RN, ONC; Melanie Hankins, MSN, BSN, ONC; Marilyn Malinowski, MSN, CRNP, ONC, CRNFA, CNOR; Debbie Ann Ritenour, BSN, RN; Lucindia A. Williamson, RN, BSN, ONC; Eevin Judkins, CCRN, ACNP-BC, ONP-C; Diane Jeselskis, BSN, RN, ONC

The Education Committee consists of four units: AAOS Unit, Congress Unit, Advance Practice Nursing Unit, and the Activities and Products Unit. The committee is responsible for developing, implementing, and evaluating the NAON education programming for both NAON's Annual Congress and the Nursing Courses at the AAOS Annual meeting, reviewing and revising current NAON’s educational products and activities, and authoring and reviewing new educational products and activities.

Research Committee

Co-Chairs: Dawn Denny, Ph.D., RN, ONC

Committee Members: Anita Meehan, MSN, RN-BC, ONC, CNOR(e); Melissa Bourne, MS, RN-BC, ONC; Kelly S Falcone, RN, MSN, CPNP; Jennifer Withall, MS, RN, ACNS, ONC; Candy Mori, PhD, RN, APRN, ACNS-BC, ONC; Deborah Wittig-Wells, PhD, MSN, RN, NE-BC; Charla B. Johnson, DNP, RN, ONC

The Research Committee brings research to the forefront of NAON activities. The NAON research grants provide funding for promising research projects by qualified investigators in the field of orthopaedic nursing.

© Copyright NAON 2021. All rights reserved.